The second round of races of the 2017 NMRRL were held on the Torworth circuit featuring Groups B & C in sunny conditions.


The Group C race saw little in the way of breakaways with only Alex Wright (7 Hills CC) opening up a small gap of any significance at the end of the 2nd lap.

After that, the race basically stayed together until the finish where Wright proved to be the strongest taking a clear win ahead of Stephen Walker (Trent Valley RC) in 2nd and Paul Young (Worrall Wheelers) in 3rd. The rest of the placings were close with David Todd (7 Hills CC) in 4th ahead of last week's Group C winner, Chris Ashworth & Luke Porter (both Sheffrec CC) in 5th and 6th places respectively.

After 2 races, Walker now holds the lead in the Group C Overall Standings, but just one point ahead of Ashworth with Porter in 3rd, Young in 4th & Wright's win taking him into 5th place.


GROUP C: Overall after 2 races:





North Midlands Road Race League , round 1.


The NMRRL returned with its first race of the year on the Dinnington circuit held in cold and blustery conditions which made it particularly difficult.


The windy conditions took its toll on the Group C race with many riders getting dropped on the opening few laps and consequently no breakaways of any note took place until a lap to go when the Sheffrec CC duo of Chris Ashworth & Luke Porter opened up a short lead over Stephen Walker (Trent Valley RC) with the bunch a little further back. The two teammates worked well together managing to maintain their advantage right until the finish where Ashworth easily took the win ahead of Porter with Walker, to his credit, riding solo over the closing lap to take 3rd place, 16 seconds down. Martin Nelson (Out of the Saddle CC) won the bunch sprint for 4th place ahead of Edward Fisher (Tickhill Velo) & Darren Johnson-Yates (Mansfield Road Club) with Paul Young (Worrall Wheelers), Martin Gibson (7 Hills CC), Matthew Farmer (Harworth & District) & Tony Carter (Sharrow CC) rounding off the top ten.




3rd Reliability Trial of 2017

first of all I'd just like to congratulate all our members who rode the Tom Simpson memorial ride and put in such excellent performances. Also putting in good performances were riders in the club's final reliability trial of the current season.3 riders opted for the B time category(38mls at 18mph) time limit 2hrs 07mins. Rob Gregory & visitor,Paul Brownless impressed with a ride of nearly 20mph despite the headwind down the riverside to finish in 1hr-54mins-42secs. Left to face the headwind on his own Jody Wren still had enough strength to qualify in the 18mph category with 2-05-56.Choosing the 16mph time band, limit 2hrs 23mins was Steve Cockerham who ploughed a lonely furrow to finish comfortably within the time limit in 2-18-47.


2nd Reliability Trial of 2017 (12th February)

Today's results on a horrible wet cold Sunday as follows, Rob Gregory  (cat B 18mph )qualifying time 1hr 50mins brilliant solo ride to finish just outside the 20mph qualifying time in 1-39-47. Gary Reevell (cat D 14mph) qualifying time 2hrs 21mins rode the course short but still qualified as he was so far ahead of the 14mph average finished in 1-50-30. Steve Cockerham (cat D 14mph) 2-00-53.Rob Brooks (cat D 14mph) 2-11-44. Aden Bott (cat D 14mph) 2-29-09.


1st reliability trial of 2017.

Today, 15th January, saw the first TVRC reliability ride take place. The weather was to say the least a little damp but that didn't stop 8 riders taking part on the 23 mile course. All riders qualified, results as follows,


Category B, 18mph.

Lucy Overton & Rob Gregory 1:08:50

Mark Leeson & Jeremy Hodson  1:13:00

Category C, 16mph.

Steve Cockerham 1:20:34

Rob Brooks  1:24:17

Category D, 14mph.

Kevin Dunne  1:24:17

Aden Bott  1:35:46


Well done to everyone that took part.








Andy Codd 

25 mile time trial Champion  (58-51)  Trophy     

1st Time Trial scratch league  (190pts)  Trophy

2nd Time Trial H/cap league   (135pts)       


Steve Cockerham

Men’s Club Champion 2016   (939pts)  Trophy    

Road Race Champion  2016   (294pts)  Trophy    

1st Time Trial H/cap league    (137pts)  Trophy    

3rd Time Trial scratch league (129pts)


Darren Dickinson

1st Road Bike scratch league  (89pts)   Trophy    

2nd Road Bike H/cap league   (58pts)


Jim Girven 

1st Road Bike H/cap league    (66pts)   Trophy    

2nd Road Bike scratch league (80pts)


Steve Walker 

2nd Time Trial scratch league (160pts)      

2nd Men’s Club Championship (559pts)      

3rd Time Trial H/cap league    (128pts)


Samantha Ritson

Ladies Club Champion 2016   (163pts)


George Bramham

3rd Road Bike scratch league  (52pts)       

3rd Road Bike H/cap league    (39pts)


Mark Leeson 

3rd Men’s Club Championship (495pts)


Lucy Overton 

2nd Ladies Club Championship (120pts)


Jim Girven 

Most improved rider 2016


Reliability Medals  awarded to: Samantha Ritson,Gary Reevell,Jeremy Hodson,Michael Adlington,Rob Brooks,Kieran Sandall,Steve Walker,Aden Bott,Michaela Freeman,Paul Freeman,Steve Cockerham,Mark Leeson,Darren Dickinson.